Every year all four institutes are asked to nominate 3 of that’s year best dissertations. The jury, the four members of the board of governors, evaluate and discuss these dissertations to award one of them with the CaRe dissertation award.

Winner CaRe Award 2019

Eefje de Bont 

Top 3:

  1. Eefje de Bont
  2. Anne Brabers
  3. Floor Borlée & Margot Metz ex aequo

Nominations 2019
In 2018 318 PhD students of CAPHRI, APH, RIHS and Nivel finished their thesis. Out of these 318, 11 were nominated for the CaRe award 2019.


  1. Vera Negenborn, Clinical results and patient-reported outcomes in breast reconstructive surgery.
  2. Bo Havermans, Implementation of organisational stress prevention.
  3. Margto Metz, Shared Decision making in mental health care. The added value for patients and clinicians.


  1. Kei Long Cheung, Improving the use of an Economic Decision Support Tool in the context of tobacco control.
  2. Eefje de Bont, Childhood fever in out-of-hours general practice.


  1. Floor Borlée, Respiratory health effects of livestock farm emissions in neighbouring residents.
  2. Anne Brabers, Patient involvement and medical practice variation. Can patients be ignored in theories about practice variation?
  3. Corelien Kloek, e-Exercise. The integration of face-to-face physiotherapy with a web-application for patients with osteoarthritis of hip and knee.


  1. Franca Ruikes, Integrated primary care for frail elderly. Implementation, effects, and costs of the CareWell primary care program.
  2. Esther Bakker-van Gijssel, A pro-active health assessment instrument for people with intellectual disabilities. Towards reducing health inequities.
  3. Jan-Willem Weenink, Back on track. Addressing poor performance of health professionals.

Winner CaRe award 2018

Ben Wijnen

Nominations 2018


  1. Mala George Otieno, Diagnostics evaluation of smear negative tuberculosis in a resource poor setting.
  2. Polina Putrik, Uncovering the Gap: individual and country level socio-economic inequities in rheumatic and musculoskeletal diseases.
  3. Ben Wijnen, Health technology assessment in epilepsy, moving towards patient-centered, efficient care.

Radboud Institute for Health Sciences

  1. Annette Plouvier, Parkinson’s disease in primary care. A joint journey of patients and general practitioners.
  2. Ibo Souwer, Chiblains in general practice.
  3. Jan Koetsenruijter, Social support networks of diabetes patients.


  1. Sjors Koppes, Stratum corneum biomarkers for inflammatory skin diseases.
  2. Floor Bennebroek Evertsz’, Quality of life, Anxiety, Depression in patients with inflammatory Bowel Disease.
  3. Caroline Kampshoff, High intensity or low-to-moderate intensity exercise after chemotherapy: for whom and how?


  1. Tessa Magnée, Mental health care in general practice.
  2. Judith Sinnige, Multimorbidity and medication management in general practice: a challenge for GP’s.
  3. Daan Botje, From the boardroom to the bedside and back.

Need more information?

Contact us